Sheriff's Department

The Los Angeles Sheriff's Department is the largest sheriff's department in the world. The Department is divided into four main operations. Within the main operations of Custody Operations, Patrol Operations, Countywide Services and Administrative & Professional Standards there are an additional subgroups of thirteen divisions, each headed by a Division Chief. From within these divisions are bureaus and specialized units that provide specific services to the county, the county residents, other county, state and federal agencies. With integrity, compassion, and courage, we serve our communities – protecting life and property, being diligent and professional in our acts and deeds, holding ourselves and each other accountable for our actions at all times, while respecting the dignity and rights of all.

Sheriff Icon
Unincorporated Communities Patroled
Contract Cities Patroled
Sworn Personal
Civilian Personnel

Earning the Public Trust Every Day.

Alex Villanueva,


Skip to content